Ten Months

I reached a milestone on Saturday: ten months in Ghana. To commemorate the occasion, I’ve identified ten surprises. Ten somewhat random observations of “that’s not what I anticipated when I joined peace Corps.”

1. Lightening bugs dot the landscape. Hundreds of them.

Most sit on the grassy bush signaling their potential mates.

Some fly through the dark sky seeking a better vantage point. A few explore my screen windows looking for a way to return to nature. Lightening bugs as thick as when I was a child in Kansas. Fireflies twinkle in the evening when I’m brushing my teeth; I counted 58 glows on the ground as I walked to the latrine last night. I wonder if a student entomologist will arrive in Jumbo to write her dissertation on the courtship flash patterns displayed by the local beetles.

2. I remain connected. Before coming to Ghana, I thought I might be lonely for 27 months. I miss my American family and friends, but they are just a phone call or email away. I have many new PCV friends who are a text or a phone call away. If I want to let American friends know what I’m doing, I write a blog or send my family an email that my brother Larry forwards. To see what my friends are up to, I check Facebook.  I can read, compose, and send email on my smart phone whenever I want – except when power has been out for several days or the network isn’t working. When I think I’m alone, I can look at my living room ceiling where over one hundred and fifty-eight cards (but who’s counting?) from loved ones in America dangle from criss-crossing twine lines. I am connected and supported by love and kindness from afar. I feel like I’m living in another state rather than on a different continent.

3. Spoken language isn’t critical. My Konkomba speaking vocabulary is limited to simple greetings, short sentences (My name is Wumboribidin. I am a Peace Corps Volunteer.  I am from America. I  live in Jumbo. I will live in Ghana for two years.) and “Ma win tab” (I don’t understand.)  Jumbo residents talk to me in Konkomba. I nod and smile and try to figure out the point of their words from a few key words I recognize (house, farm, where, what, baby, food). Their animated hand gestures, facial expressions, and tone of voice help me determine how to respond – usually with a smile and a nod. When I speak a few mangled Konkomba words, they smile their approval. Children rattle off what sounds like gibberish and look surprised when I don’t respond appropriately. We get by with limited language and a lot of trust.

4. Days and nights are eqaual length. OK. I shouldn’t admit this one.  But for some reason, I never thought about the length of the days and nights at the equator before stepping off the plane. In the back of my mind, I associated hot temperatures with long summer days.  Nope. As any third grader knows, the days and nights are nearly equal 5 degrees from the equator. 
Darkness arrives early in my small village and the nights sometimes seem long without 24-hour super stores or fast food franchises beckoning me after the sun goes down. I often go to bed before 8 p.m. and wake up around 5 as the new day arrives.    

5. Roosters crow any time. Anyone raised on a farm knows this. But I was raised in the “big city” of 30,000 people. As a child I learned that roosters crow at daybreak.  Not so.  Roosters crow whenever they feel like it. Three in the morning. Three in the afternoon. And anytime in between. Maybe the Ghanaian roosters are a nocturnal breed adapted for living successfully in the equal-day-night pattern and hot climate.

6. I sweat – a lot.  As an active “Southern girl” in America, I didn’t perspire, I sweated. I Ghana, salty liquid secretes from every pore. I drink lots of water to compensate; evaporation keeps me cool. But I never expected I’d always carry a bandana to continually wipe my sweaty chin.

7. I have many names. In America, I was almost always, “Linda.” In Ghana, I have many names. Linda, of course.  But many others.

When I first arrived in Ghana, my host family gave me the name “Mama Obriwa” in honor of the family matriarch who passed away a month before my arrival.  I loved the way it flowed from their lips. Strangers often call me “Obruni.” which means “foreigner.” My pale skin, limited language, and strange mannerisms make it obvious that I’m not from Ghana.  When the children chant “Obruni! Obruni! Obruni!” I feel like a rock-star on stage. I smile and wave. I sometimes get their attention to tell them, “Me din de Linda.”

Children call “Madam!” from my front gate to get my attention. Another way of showing respect is calling me “Father” based on the country’s tie to Catholic priests and missionaries. My favorite name – and one I can almost say without getting tongue-tied – is “Wumboribidin”  (woom-boar-ee-ba-deen). The chief of Jumbo anointed me with my Konkomba name meaning “God bless you” at our first community meeting.

Friends and family include special names in their emails. Their loving salutations (Hello, my dear friend. Hey, Cuz) and closings (Sweet dreams, SQ.  Love you lots, Sis.) warm my heart. 

8. My flexible schedule is filled with plenty of free time. Peace Corps is not a place for someone who needs lots of direction or a rigid schedule.  My close friends and family may be thinking, “But, Linda, you thrive on creating and following a schedule!  Are you OK?”  Yes. I’m thriving with the lack of structure and the joy of going with the flow.

I’ve read many books: paperbacks from the PCV library, books mailed by thoughtful friends, and Kindle downloads.  Let me know if you have any recommendations.  I’ve written many blogs and emails. 

I read to and play games with the neighborhood children.  We made jump ropes last week from pure water sachets. Almost all children above the age of five knew how to braid; many are learning how to jump rope.

I’m adjusting to “Ghana time.” “We will tell them the meeting starts at 3 and they will come at 5.” 

9. My living conditions are grand. I anticipated having to walk a mile to get water from a river and living without electricity in a small hut-like mud enclosure with a thatched roof.  I braced myself for “camping” for 27 months: sleeping on the floor, starting a wood fire whenever I needed to cook, and using a hole in the ground for a toilet.  I hoped I’d be able to buy groceries more frequently than once a month.

I live a pampered life. I live in a three-room plastered and painted mud-brick house with electricity. Two of the six community boreholes (machine-dug wells with hand pumps) are within 1000 yards of my house.  Children fetch water to fill my 250-liter blue barrel when I can’t collect enough run-off from the tin roof. I have a refrigerator with a small freezer. My two-burner propane stove is fancier than any Coleman camping stove. My small counter-top toaster-oven bakes delicious bread.  I have a double bed and a couple of cots for guests. A desk, a table & chairs, a wardrobe, a pantry, a bookshelf, and multiple storage shelves and tables fill my home. I ride my bike to get back and forth to market whenever I need provisions. It only seems like camping when I take my nightly bucket bath beneath the stars (I love the natural light) and when I walk to the latrine and squat above the hole (I love having the sunflower decorations, but I would prefer having a seat.)

10. I am at peace. With myself. With my current role. With my life.
I wake up smiling. I whistle while I repair the fence.
Infants fall asleep in my arms during bouncy tro rides. Children sing songs with me and shout “Hello!” with glee when they see me from a distance. Their parents smile with their eyes when they greet me. Vendors call me by name. I feel a part of an accepting and safe community.

I joined Peace Corps to give back, to help promote worldwide peace and friendship. I didn’t think I would also find peace in the solitude of living in a foreign land.

Ten months of Peace Corps service complete. Seventeen more months of building memories (and experiencing surprises) as a Volunteer in Ghana. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Ten Months

  1. Gabriele says:

    as I always say….our emotional condition is all in the expectations we set for ourselves and the perspective we view our world and the people and circumstance that fill it.

    beautiful. you are.

    • lsmittle says:

      How touching, Gabriele. Thanks. My quote for the week: “Your life is not about you. Your life is about everyone whose life you touch.” by Neale Donald Walsch. And my wall calendar (from you) has this for the December thought: “Cherish the gifts of friendship and love.” Thanks for your friendship and love!

  2. Bev says:

    Oh, Linda, how I enjoyed this post, but then I enjoy everyone of your posts.  Grew concerned when we didn’t hear from you Sat. or Sun, but this morning (Mon.), here you are.  Good bless.  Fireflies here 

    • lsmittle says:

      “No news is good news” when I don’t write, Bev. No communication may be from lack of electricity or network connection or an over-abundance of laziness or other projects. I appreciate your concern, though. Hope you’re getting ready for a blessed holiday season.

  3. bill carter says:

    I had to print your post and read it while having morning coffee. It was the best way to thoroughly digest it and understand your thoughts. WOW!!!. I wonder if I were in Ghana, as a PCV, if I would have the same positive out look, perspective and appreciation as you have so elegantly expressed. I especially liked #10. I do have to wonder what the local people, who have always lived there, would think of life in our part of the world? It would have to be a shock to say the least. You have probably obtained a perspective of your self, life in Ghana and life here in the USA that we will never have. By the way you have two cards headed your way which will make the total an even 160. You may have a period of adjustment when your tour is over and you return to Allen, Tx. You are returnuing…or are you???

    • lsmittle says:

      Thanks, Bill, for the “WOW!!!” response to my blog. You are right, I’m sure, about the shock that people from Jumbo would have if they landed in Dallas. This morning, Joseph and I discussed plumbing (“Do people in America have boreholes like this?”) and snow (“It’s white and fluffy and falls lightly from the sky sometimes when it’s very cold outside.”) and recent elections in both countries. We also talked about how to motivate people to gather the required materials for latrines.

      I look forward to your two new photo cards, Bill. I’ll have to put up some additional twine. I am returning to America after Peace Corps (I assume), but I don’t know where. So many options! Even if I don’t return to Allen to live, I’ll be in the Dallas area for a while – at least long enough for some sort of “Wumboribidin is in town” get together. 🙂

  4. Susan Kilpatrick says:

    Simply wonderful! Enough said :o)
    Love and hugs.

  5. Dolores Runyon says:

    What a wonderful Christmas gift this was! Even though you didn’t sent it as a gift, I am accepting it as one. This made me cry. What wonderful things you said. Sorry I’m not able to mail you stuff, but my funds are limited, so I’ll continue to look forward to reading your blogs and keeping in touch through computers. Love reading about your experiences and happy that you seem to be happy and content.

    • lsmittle says:

      Dolores, you are so kind. I hadn’t thought of this blog as a Christmas present, but I’m glad my words struck a chord with you. Don’t worry about mailing me anything. I love getting your emails and comments on my blog. I’m so glad you’re following my adventure and I look forward to seeing you when I return.

  6. Rose Baker says:

    Linda, I’ve just started getting your blog and am mesmerized with each piece that you send. I’m not quite sure what your mission is over there, and it would help to know—but just your presence, good cheer and willingness to do anything that’s asked seems to be a mission in itself.

    • lsmittle says:

      I’m glad you’re following my blog, Rose. My main Peace Corps role is “Health: Water & Sanitation” and my two current projects are helping my community get 100 latrines and procuring funds to repair the boreholes. I have plenty of time for reading and writing and doing whatever “comes up” during the day. Some of today’s activities: weaving another foot of water sachet fence with the children, talking about the recent election and the water-sanitation projects with my counterpart (Ghanaian partner) while watching the chickens in my front yard, reading a couple of books to the children, riding my bike to market for eggs and toilet paper, writing my blog, sharing leftovers with my PCV neighbor Nathan who lives an hour bike ride away and comes to my house regularly for electricity, reading several chapters in Ishmael by Daniel Quinn, singing action songs with the children, washing clothes, helping Issac finish sewing his market bag and celebrating the accomplishment by making/eating “popping corn.” I have an herb-yeast bread in the oven so in an hour I’ll celebrate the end of a great day with fresh bread.

  7. Laurie Hosack says:

    I have a smile on my face and a warmth in my heart – feeling so very happy for you (and incredibly in awe of you!)

  8. Jeannie says:

    What a life you are living my friend from lightening bugs to peace. And to find such valuable treasures in a small Africian village.

  9. Muriel Dean says:

    Linda, I miss lightening bugs. I’m glad you found them!

  10. Barb says:

    Delightful post as usual! One question … I’m curious how your living quarters compare with other of your fellow PCVs? Are there some who are living more as you had originally envisioned?

    • lsmittle says:

      Thanks, Cuz. PCVs living conditions are along a broad continuum. Some have tile floors, running water, a flush toilet, and TV. Others have single rooms in a family compound with communal cooking areas. Five PCVs from my group have no electricity. A few live in remote villages where trips to market are an ordeal.

      Communities hosting PCVs must provide housing that meets Peace Corps’ guidelines (screens on windows, lockable door, separate bath area, latrine, good roof). PCVs are responsible for furniture. Since I am Jumbo’s fourth Volunteer, I have all the furniture purchased by previous Volunteers. First PCVs in a village may sleep on a piece of foam on the floor, store their clothes in their suitcase, and cook with wood or charcoal.

  11. cecompt says:

    Thanks for this precious, insightful view of your life in Ghana!

  12. sharon says:

    Love how you can find so many positives in your life, I miss lightening bugs here in maui but we do have roosters they crow only early in the morning, also one correction southern ladies don’t sweat we glow 🙂 what a wonderful life you are living i look forward to your next post

    • lsmittle says:

      Thanks for the reminder that Southern women “glow.” You can tell I wasn’t raised in the South, Sharon. I was a transplant. I “glow” profusely in Ghana!

Leave a comment