My next adventure…

My brain swims through things-to-do-before-I-leave checklists. I check off one item (tell family) and add two more (post a blog, convert US dollars to Thai Bahts).

I analyze suggested packing lists. One belt seems reasonable. “At least six sport bras” seems excessive. I buy short-sleeved shirts with collars, paying less than $20 for seven new-to-me shirts from the local thrift store.

My mouth devours the “eat foods you love” advice. I eat two ice cream cones in one day. The pistachio was awesome, the hazelnut even better. A week later I buy pint containers of ice cream. To compensate, I fill my fridge with fruits and vegetables. The ice cream is gone; the veggies are wilting.

I listen to Thai language CDs. My ears strain to hear the difference between high, middle, low, rising, and falling tones. My tongue bounces around my teeth trying in vain to mimic new sounds. The written characters in Thai words look like squiggly designs instead of specific letters with unique sounds. I feel like a Kindergartener unable to distinguish between the letters b, d, p, and q.

I remind myself to focus on the present. My mind replays preparing to move to Ghana; I think about daily life in West Africa. I imagine daily life and special-occasion festivals in Thailand. My heart beats faster. I take a deep breath, filling my lungs with oxygen and my mind with dreams.

I receive the much-awaited medical clearance from Peace Corps. I call my friend – another Peace Corps Volunteer from Ghana – to tell her the good news. Her husband has received clearance and she is waiting for the official thumbs up. A day later, she receives the coveted email. If there are no hiccups (e.g., change in Peace Corps funding, natural disaster, bizarre man-made calamity), the three of us – and 70 other enthusiastic Americans – will leave on January 8th, 2016, to begin our 27 months of service.

YEAH!!!

Like all Peace Corps Volunteers, I will promote world peace while helping people improve their lives. In Ghana, I focused on health, water and sanitation. In Thailand, I’m returning to my roots – education. My job title is “Teacher Collaborator and Community Facilitator.” I’ll spend most days in a primary school classroom, partnering with Thai teachers to help them become more effective English teachers.

I’m on cloud nine. I look forward to living in the only Southeast Asian country that has escaped colonial rule.

I anticipate the joy of learning and teaching.

I imagine the excitement of meeting new friends and exploring a different culture.

I expect many amazing adventures in Thailand.

P.S. I’ll post stories about my Peace Corps adventure on https://pcthailand.wordpress.com. You can display that blog and “follow me” to receive an email each time I post an update.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to My next adventure…

  1. Nancy_Lorimer says:

    Wow! Proud that you are my cousin. How fun that this time it’s Asia. Thank you for again letting us experience your adventures vicariously.

    >

    • lsmittle says:

      Maybe we’ll organize a family reunion in Thailand?!? I’d love to have visitors. And I love writing stories so friends and family can share my adventures vicariously. Hugs!

  2. Barbara Blankenship says:

    I am so excited for you, will continue to follow! Barbara

  3. Mason/Jeanette Evans says:

    We look forward to your emails. We so enjoyed those from your previous “adventure”,
    Bon voyage.
    Jeanette & Mason Evans

  4. Good luck to you, once again. You’re amazing. I enjoy following your adventures.

  5. sharon tobin says:

    Tobin.dj@gmail.com

    Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

    From:”Peace Corps – Ghana” Date:Thu, Oct 1, 2015 at 9:58 PM Subject:[New post] My next adventure…

    lsmittle posted: “My brain swims through things-to-do-before-I-leave checklists. I check off one item (tell family) and add two more (post a blog, convert US dollars to Thai Bahts). I analyze suggested packing lists. One belt seems reasonable. “At least six sport bras” “

  6. Suan Hughes says:

    I had no idea you were planning another Peace Corps adventure. Good for you. We loved our trip to Thailand, it’s so colorful. Will you be in a rural village ? Take LOTS of rain gear including knee high rubber boots. We usually try to at least learn how to say “hello” and “thank you” and, of course, “where is the restroom” but we never learned any Thai. Whenever we would ask our guide how long it would take for us to reach some place he would always reply “Oh, 15 minutes” so now, even this many years later we’ll say to each other “Oh, 15 minutes.” Looking forward to your SAIL class. Suan Hughes

    • lsmittle says:

      Thanks for the packing suggestions. I’ll live with a family (probably near Bangkok) the first three months. I’ll find out where I’ll live for the two years of service during the middle of the three months of training. I love the “Oh, 15 minutes” story. See you soon.

  7. Sharon Harmon says:

    Dear Linda, you continue to amaze me with your adventures. Keep it up, stay safe, and keep blogging.

  8. Deborah Smith says:

    Linda, how amazing! Enjoy your adventure and I look forward to reading all about it. Safe travels my friend.

  9. lsmittle says:

    Let’s get together before I leave. I want to hear about your adventures.

Leave a Reply

